I linked
pentane to
soldiergrrrl's infuriated post about the Illinois State Police's idiotic "don't worry your pretty little head with guns" self-protection page.
soldergrrrl's post is
here.
pentane's post is
here.
( behind this cut is a speculation about assault which involves bodily fluids and some theory about various other squicky things. Don't click here if you are easily shocked, horrified, or subject to flashbacks or mental trauma of any sort. )Here's the thing. I'm really into the idea of assault avoidance. That's great stuff and we should definitely talk about it. But what about assault SURVIVAL? How do you get out of it with some part of your dignity intact, with your body your own again (or the idea that someday it will be), and with the smarts to do something other than stand there screaming and crying-- like get yourself to safety, contact the authorities, call a friend, and take care of yourself?
Why aren't we covering things like "for God's sake, don't try to use your keys as defense unless you have nothing else"?
If you break your keys, you can't get into your car or house. Those may be the closest immediately safe places for you. That's stupid. If he TAKES your keys, then he has access to your house, your car, your work (if you have a key to there-- I do) and so on. Sure, it may give you a few seconds' headstart to run-- but if the only thing close is your car, where the hell are you going to run TO?
This whole "nothing is more important than YOU" is very nice, but YOU need your glasses to see, your shoes to run, your keys to be safe when you get where you're running to because you can't run forever.