With the same sense of relief that one with a pounding headache feels when discovering that one's hat is, in fact, far too tight, I believe I've spotted at least some of the problem with work.
I'm pondering to see if I'm doing this comparison correctly, before I present it to the boss and ask him to fling money (well, people) at the problem.
I feel that I'm taking a metric assload more calls than most people. I've counted up the number of calls in the first hour after midnight every day for the past week, and averaged it, and then thrown out the one day when we had a higher call volume due to a problem we knew was coming at some point (i.e. Cingular getting their butt in gear) and averaged it again.
Then I compared the number of calls that supervisor took working that hour of that shift, with a supervisor working during the morning or evening rush, which is the busiest time of the day.
I'm taking about 25% more calls than someone who is in the middle of the busiest call-taking part of the day-- AND I'm having to do start of shift things, as well.
No wonder I feel overworked. I AM overworked. This is going in the other overnight guy's box and then we'll throw it at the boss with a united front.
P.S. I am gleefully rearranging crappy "reminder" messages to appear 15 minutes before my shift, rather than in the first 2 minutes of my shift. Let evening shift deal with 'em.
P.P.S. Making my life easier and delighting in the trouble and misery of others when they're forced to shoulder their share of the workload is all the rage in Paris.